Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Is this a reasonable public access motorcycle parking spot?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Jomac, Jul 15, 2008.

1. My 6 foot husband was ok with parking here at the allocated MC parking at our local shopping centre.

So, I'm a beginner rider, have L plates on a similar Bonnie to the one pictured working towards upgrade. I noted gravel pits, ledge height, and cracked concrete and contemplated length of my legs and chickened out of giving it a go.

Smug husband had a bit of a laugh at my expence as I pouted that only a stuntman could park there.

Took these shots and wondered what others think.

2. i don't see what your issue is :?
  3. Just the challenge of getting up the curb as a learner, I guess. Taking it straight on is the way (i.e. 90 degree angle between wheel and curb), but I think it's smart for you to estimate your own abilities and leave until later activities you don't feel confident with.
  4. Plus there's the potential issue of putting a foot off the side of the kerb when putting the bike on the side-stand - it *is* kind of challenging for a beginner in terms of bike control.
  5. Nice spot... :roll: fcukin hell who thought up that spot for bikes???
  6. Easy.

But you need to come at the kerb as straight as possible, then turn once you're up the top.

You also need to give just the perfect amount of revs to pop the bike up there without flying straight into the parked car on the opposite side.

If you're on your L's and riding isn't just 2nd nature yet, maybe wait a little while, or practice on another kerb somewhere else where there isn't a car on the other side :)
  7. Could I blame centre management if i plowed into the car trying to get up the kerb? :D :p