Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Is there really that much difference in the makes of helmets

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Shachar1971, Aug 25, 2006.

1. Hi All

I am new to bikes (have a dirt bike and getting a road bike). Was looking at various helmets, and the guys at the shops are saying "go for the Shoei - unless you think your head is only worth $300"... even though they all meet aussie standards???

One of them told me that although they all meet Aussie standards, the Shoei FAR surpases that - does anyone know if this is true???

Can anyone give some advice to a total novice on the subject?

2. australian standards are min requiremet .. shoei passes australian standards by alot and as you go cheaper the closer the helment is to the min australian standard
  3. i'd say go with the one that fits your head! the salesperson will always try to sell you on the more expensive one.

when i first bought my helmet i tried quite a few. 'shoei', didn't fit my head as well as the cheaper 'hjc' i eventually did buy.

do a search here and you'll find a number of threads on this subject which will help you with your decision.
  4. I suspect you should try another shop. The NRMA web site says
    Many years ago, the helmet manufacturer Bell had an advertisement that said, 'If you've got a $10 head, buy a $10 helmet'. The point is less relevant today because all motorcycle helmets sold in Australia must meet stringent tests
    Good fit and comfort is probably more important.