Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Is my clutch stuffed or is it the gearbox?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by C15CO, Jun 6, 2012.

1. Hi,

I'm not having too much luck with my 2001 NSR 150SP, I recently seized my engine (https://netrider.net.au/forums/showthread.php?t=129866#.T88GYrDv5Sk) and now I am having trouble selecting first and second gear (not sure if this related).

Since getting the bike back on the road I have had the odd occasion where I fail to select second or I crunch into first, but as a noob I was putting this down to technique.

After riding the bike on the weekend I noticed a slight smell but it was faint so I ignored it. In morning I tried to push start the bike - I changed my starting technique after reading on here that NSR's start better with the fuel tap off, but the bike wouldn't start and I flooded the engine (after turning the tap back on) - anyway whilst push start the bike down the driveway I noticed that first gear would engage regardless of how much I squeezed the clutch lever. The gears were really stiff too. After some gentle playing I could select all gears but the bike still engages in first.

I have checked my clutch cable and it appears fine. I adjusted the cable from the lever end but did not bother from the other end as the lever that it attaches to on the gearbox seems to go through its full movement when the clutch lever is squeezed.

I have checked the Transmission oil and the level and viscosity is correct (I drained and refilled).

Is my clutch stuffed or is it the gearbox or something else?
  2. Viscosity may be low in the transmission,this will cause the clutch to bind.
  3. What grade n brand oil and how old is oil