Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

is my bike square? or is it my tyres

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by xryda, Jul 9, 2013.

1. hi guys i am new to riding (roughly 30-40 hours combined) so it could possibly be me, but i find my bike tips into right handers fast with no control of how far yet the left seems more comfortable. i know people normally have a prefered side but this dosent seem like thats the problem.

i bought a 96 across that had obviously been dropped. bent right handlebar(i replaced from wreckers) scratches on the both sides of fairings (deeper on right side) .headlight dosent seem to sit square in the hole in fairing and chipped paint on stator cover with no scratches. the front tyre seems to be worn more on the right side however the rear tyre seems even (a mate of mine questioned the front tyre). when looking from behind the bike shows no obvious signs to me of being out of shape.

any help would be appreciated

2. hmm, I just changed my front tyre cause it was worn/shaved on the sides and I had a 'square' centre!! tipped almost fell over!! replaced tyre all good, in your case, this COULD help, but if your bikes been trashed, ensure that it isnt out of alignment etc. hope this helps, there will be others with comments so stand by, and welcome to riding, if in melbourne, get to Elwood sat morn prac session, you will learn heaps

• Like Like x 1
  3. try a new front tyre first , sounds like your problem

4. If its a recently purchased bike, it would not hurt to get new tires. If the bike has not been ridden a lot, the tires could be "off". Tires go hard over time so if there getting old, you could have compromised grip.