Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Is a CRUISER good commuting bike??

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by zicksivbinm, Mar 24, 2012.

1. Hey guys, I'm new to this forum so I'm testing the waters to see how helpful this can be!

I've been riding a CB250 (classic style) for about 4 years, and now I'm getting rid of the bike.

I've been considering my next bike, and here's what I want:

* something good for short riders (I'm 5"5 / 157cm)
    * something zippier and or more powerful than my CB250
    * something not TOO powerful (I'd say 600cc is my absolute max)
    * Budget of <$6000
    * something good for commuting in and out of the city

To get to the point, I'm quite interested in the Hyosung GV250 Aquila, which fits all that criteria. I also like the way it looks.

My HESITATION, is that I do a lot of commuting up and down busy streets and LOVE the CB250 for that because it's great for manoeuvring and slipping between cars.

Am I making the wrong decision by getting a slightly larger CRUISER-style bike for my purposes? I've heard it's tough to manage at slower speeds and won't be as easy to navigate between cars in heavy traffic.

Any thoughts appreciated!

Thanks
    Zick

2. mmmmmmm well yes i ride a cruiser to and from work... i would suggest either the VXS650 Yamaha or the Vt750 Honda shadow.... the honda is more slim line and has more grunt...

as for the hyosung i wouldn't even bother...

3. +1 to this.

4. There is also the vt750s, got mid set pegs. Closer to the cb.

I commute on a 1200cc cruiser. I find I can move it around very quickly, can even do the MOST on it. At 65kgc's I'm pretty small as well.

5. Go to a 650. A 250 to a 250 cruiser will not be more "zippy and powerful".