Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

iphone mount

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by sloany, Apr 20, 2010.

1. Hi guys,

I recently bought a Suzuki GS500F and now I'm looking at a mount for my iPhone so I can make use of the TomTom GPS app.

Has anyone got this type of setup that can also charge the iPhone and recommend a watertight case that'll fit with the mount?

The mounts I'm looking at are:

I'm a newbie when it comes to wiring up something that can charge the phone, but I'm guessing something like this will do the job (other then buying parts separately):

Then I can use the F4 Interphone or a Scala unit to listen to music/GPS instructions via bluetooth.

Any suggestions? Or missing anything?

2. I use the Navigon app on the iPhone. I had intended to find a mount for the phone but couldn't find one I was happy with. instead I drop the phone in my pocket and just listen to the directions over the bluetooth headset. Who needs pretty pictures anyway? ;)
  3. I thought about just doing that, but doesn't your phone go flat on long trips with the GPS app running?
  4. I'm sure you can lock the phone and still listen to directions thru the earphones the same way you listen to music while the phone is locked.

I'm looking at buying the below mount for my motorbike which is also waterproof as well.

I get a good 10-15 hours of music time on a full charge thru the earphones. I suppose getting gps instructions in the same manner the battery should last a good 10 or more hours.
  5. it depends - when I've run it in the car with the screen running, yeah it chews the battery something shocking. Using it on the bike with the screen locked it still chews it but not as badly.