Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Introduction

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by BananaBoat, Oct 1, 2016.

1. Hello, my name is Wil and I have been reading a lot of NR forums lately as they have been very helpful in getting me motivated to start riding. I'll be sitting my test in December for my L's and hopefully get a nice CB250 (188cm, 74kg) with protective clothing for around $4k. I'm currently studying in Melbourne north so my budget is quite small for the starter bike, any tips will be appreciated and I will try and be active on the forums.
    Thanks guys,

• Like Like x 2
  2. welcome aboard wil :)

A couple of great places to start looking for gear AMX superstores several locations, or if you can get out to Dandenong checkout MCAS. Great gear great prices.

Bikers Gear Australia is also another good option, as is second hand see the thread here (except for helmets always buy new )

Good luck for the test :)
  3. For the Helmet I was looking at getting the Shark Explore R with an antifog visor, I have prescription glasses so when I am not wearing contact lenses I need to have room for the glasses. Plus I have researched that the helmet takes a pretty hard knock and keeps your head safe :)
    Thanks for making me feel welcomed,
    Edit: I also have read somewhere here that buying the Jacket and pants second hand is a good option. Not sure on second hand gloves or boots.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Test out a few bikes before u buy one mate . The cb250 is pretty gutless bike if u ask me.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Welcome Will , buy the best you can afford . Can usually find some high quality gear 2nd hand for not much money .