Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Introduction + Concern

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by neogeo, Sep 10, 2011.

1. Hey guys.

My name is Frank and I thought I might introduce myself on this forum!

I'm 25 with a full drivers license. Currently a few weeks into my Motorcycle Learners. I work full time in IT, I study part time and I"m not really mechanically savvy. I not overly tall either, standing on 168 cm with a weight of 67 kg.

A few weeks ago, I decided to give motorcycles a go and decided to buy a Honda CBR125 as I was told it was a good city bike for under 4k. I tried out a couple of the other bikes as well but it felt a little tall for me, I had to almost tippy toe to move the bike on neutral. So I had to settle for the cbr125.

My daily commutes are from home-Camperdown o work-Surry Hills (about 3-4 km) and from Surry Hills to Sydney Uni (about 1-2km). Once in a while I would visit my family near the Epping area, which would be about a 27km ride each way.

My concerns: Over the last couple of weeks, I've ridden on high winds, rain etc. What frightens me the most is high winds. Would any Netriders offer me some advice? Is it my technique or is it the bike? or both?

(sorry if I've posted this in the wrong section)

2. No problems, Frank, and welcome

Riding in the wind is a new rider's concern that comes up often here

The beat advice is NOT to tense up, but to relax your arms and wrists; strange as it may sound, the bike is highly unlikely to tip over.
  3. welcome to NR frank,