Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Introducing....... Me

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Archer, Nov 15, 2014.

1. Hi All,

I figure I should introduce myself and give a little story, as seems customary. :happy:

I've recently been looking into getting a ride as I've always had the bug to ride, but never the money or opportunity until now (sort of)*.

I grew up with the dream of one day having the freedom of cruising down a highway with nothing more than the roar of the engine and the open landscape to keep me company for <insert stupid distance here> ..

Having no real experience other than a few rides with mates and a 'lesson learnt' moment* , I'm a complete noob to all the rest.

*back in my mid teens, a friend got a Honda 400? for free and asked if I could try and get it started for him while he took care of some errands, 15mins later, got it going, decided I'd see if I could ride the thing..
    I spent a good 45mins going through a few back streets working out how things worked.. confidence grew as I gradually built up the speed (a whopping 60k's at times!) and worked out the best line for the corners, then came overconfidence... a bit more speed, a little later on the brakes, went well for a few corners, then I either broke too hard with the rear or tilted too far over and found that : Engine+knee+road=:cry:
    After thanking the powers that be that I could still move and stand on that leg, I also thanked them for letting the bike miss the power pole.. I picked it up, checked it over for any damage, to which it looked like my knee had been ample protection from the fall.