Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW International visitors license?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by ajiribarren, Jun 2, 2010.

1. Hello everyone!

I'm in the middle of a conundrum here. I'm contemplating two bikes for my next bike, a 2009 XJ6n or a 2010 z750. Both, obviously, are full-license bikes.

My status in Australia is of an international visitor. I'm a student here for at least 2 years, and I have my license from back home, since 1997. I'm waiting on the translation from my consulate and should arrive any time soon. So far, I've been riding a LAMS approved bike (no L plates whatsoever) to and from uni, and the occasional weekend ride with no problems.

The thing is, the information on the NSW RTA is not very clear. I cannot apply for a NSW license before 6 months in NSW, but it doesn't say is mandatory to apply for the license after 6 months. And If I apply for such license, it should be renewed every 12 months.

Anyone here have any experience with International visitorĀ“s license? I bought a LAMS bike just to get reacquainted with riding and the road laws here (you know, the left side of the road?), but now that I want to upgrade, dealers are reluctant to let me test drive a bike, or are concerned about selling me a bike since I don't have a NSW full license.

Information is not very clear, and every time I try to explain my status to a dealer is confusing. I don't wanna even imagine if I get pulled by a cop. My license is just a motorcycle license, there's no tiered scheme where I come from.

Thanks for any information or advice.
  2. It means as soon as you get it translated take it to RTA and get them to give you a full local licence

They have to give you same for same