Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Interesting situation on the way home this evening.....

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' at netrider.net.au started by PoJo777, May 13, 2011.

1. Hi all,

I've been riding for around 4 years but I'm new to commuting on the bike, just started 2 weeks ago and I found myself in a situation this evening on the way home which prompted me to come here and get a few opinions on who was doing the wrong thing - well not wrong thing but being a bit of an inconsiderate a$$pie.

On my way home following another bike, it was wet so we were both doing the speed limit - we're approaching a major intersection with 2 lanes of traffic turning right and all the turning vehicles are stationary so he begins to filter to the front as do I (down the middle of the 2 lanes of traffic). As we approach the front of the pack he stops to talk to the driver of one of the front vehicles, I couldn't go around him or any of the cars so I had to wait, I figured he'd just have a quick chat then move on as he'd seen me in his mirrors. He talked to the driver until the second the green arrow lit up so I had to take off from between 2 moving cars on a RHS bend in the wet.

All I could think after I got through the corner is "I would have moved over for that guy", was I expecting too much here? I always check my mirrors when I get to the front of a pack of traffic and if needed make room for other riders.

2. Yup, inconsiderate er.... "a$$pie"

3. He could have been asking for directions or something.

Was there space for him to move over, whilst still talking to the driver, to let you pass him? (ie, two bikes side by side between the cars?)

4. Loud pipes (at full noise) alert other road users of your displeasure