Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW Insurance & Roadside Assistance for L platers

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Krazy Kiwi, Jul 29, 2015.

1. I'm a newbie to the motorcycling world! I got my L's almost a month ago now, had a few lessons on a CBR125 then brought a Yamaha YZF-R3. I love it but am still working on my confidence!

I've been shopping around for insurance which has been interesting (to put it nicely lol). Youi quoted me almost $2,000 and had the highest excess. I've narrowed it down to 3 companies (this is for comprehensive insurance):

GIO: $352.28 premium; amount covered $6,099; standard excess $400; new motorcycle after a total loss for motorcycles less than 2 yrs old; riding apparel cover up to $1,000.

NRMA: $366 premium; insured for "market value"; standard excess $650; new motorcycle after total loss for motorcycles less than 2 yrs old; riding apparel cover up to $2,000.

Yamaha Motorcycle Insurance
    : $543 premium; standard excess $250; new motorcycle after total loss for motorcycles less than 3 yrs old; riding apparel cover up to $3,000.

I don't think I'll go with NRMA due to it having the highest excess. GIO offers car hire if the motorcycle is stolen or damaged during an attempted theft. Yamaha also offer car hire but they don't limit it to theft or attempted theft.

I was wondering who members recommend for roadside assistance. I looked at the NRMA one but it seems quite expensive!
  2. Some bike insurance companies like Shannons and Swan include some sort of roadside assist in their policies...but make sure you always read the fine print though. :)
    Do you have exisiting insurance for a car with someone... Use that as leverage.