Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Insurance quotes - Stumped!

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by buckeye9906, Jun 25, 2012.

1. Hi all,
    I am new to NR and I hope this is the right place for my question. If not please direct me to the appropriate forum.
    mod: done so next time you will know, please take the time to acquaint yourself to all the different areas of the forums.

I am in the market and looking to buy a 2007 VTR250. I got a few quotes online from IMR, Shannons and AAMI.
    I put in the exact same details for all the quotes but the premiums vary from 378 (IMR) to 743 (Shannons) to 771 (AAMI).
    I would have expected a difference of $50-100 (based on car insurance experience). Why would there be such a massive difference? Am I missing something?
    Also anyone have any bad experiences with IMR?

2. You will find AAMI and shannons work on cars more then bikes thus there rates are higher as they would of had more claims.

Try Swann and QBE as well they have good bike rates. Just wait till you get to the larger CC range in quotes the price difference is massive compared to the 250's
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Thanks aussieak. Will check those as well.
  4. Bike insurance varies quite a bit from year to year from different provider. It always pays to shop around.

QBE have been more consistent since IMR has been around. Every now and then one of the others will try to get into the bike market and offer good prices, but a couple of years later they will be uncompetitive again.
  5. I've always found Swann to have the best deals for motorcycle insurance. My recent claim experience wasn't the smoothest, but got there in the end with minimal delay.