Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Insurance Query

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Jak, Feb 15, 2011.

1. Right so i am around 5months out from getting my (p) for the bike so i am then able to use high powered bikes etc etc.

(Have been riding for around 2-3yrs so no flamers, so its not like a total newbie straight onto a a high powered bike)

My query involves if i purchase this new bike and insure it, (say) i have low speed fall will the insurance company still cover me or others involved? (because i don't hold the license needed to ride this bike). I suspect this would happen but thought i might ask.

2. i.e. Riding something you aren't licensed to ride? Answer is a very simple no. Standard clause on every policy.
  3. No you would be in serious trouble as well if you pranged.
  4. lol. You know I'm an Insurance broker for a living dude? Shoulda asked me the other night!

Answers in here are correct, No they won't.

HOWEVER, there is always a story about someone in your scenario who DID get paid out, and this is most likely because their insurer didn't bother to check their license details with Vicroads before making payment.

Don't risk it. Wait you time like everyone else :)
  5. you may be the broker but i was an investigator for insurance fraud for over 15 years...i can help you out if you do prang it!!!..lol

However, in saying that, when you take out insurance and you give them the correct details and your licence etc and if they take your money, they cannot refuse your claim.
    as long as you have given them the correct details. You have a duty of disclosure and if you give them the details your set...the insurance company agrees to insure you when they know all the facts.....but why risk it...