Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Insurance claim questions

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by stickers, Jun 3, 2012.

1. Hi all, I'm fairly new to riding in Melbourne (bought my bike early this year) and unfortunately I had my first major spill last Friday.

Was coming back from Healesville via Kinglake and managed to run wide due to some gravel on the road and put my wheel into the gutter, which made me hit the rocky cliff side. This sent me back to the road and the bike threw me out for that mistake before sliding across and off the road.
    The impact was violent and thankfully I was in full gear - a 2 piece suit, back protector, rst boots, gloves and arai helmet. Picked myself up and was amazed that it didn't hurt that much, though now i have sores and aches all over but not a drop of blood was shed.

I called my insurance company - Insure my ride and after about almost 3 hours, the tow van finally came to help pull my bike up. It was painful to see it being literally dragged up on its side with bits falling out. Hitting the rock side also busted my left engine cover and left a trail of oil and debris on the road as the bike went on the other side. we cleaned it up eventually with a piece of rag.

Alrights.. now for the questions. I've lodged an online claim with insure my ride as they are closed after office hours and on the weekends.

The tow guy said that it was highly likely that the bike would be written off as the cost to repair it would certainly be more than what its worth (about 5 grand). I've also got full comp insurance with riding gear cover ($1000) and modifications/accessories ($1000).