Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Installing bike alarm

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by deyago, Jul 21, 2005.

1. Heya,

I've finally got around to getting the bike alarm many of us purchased a while back. Now I need help installing it, I'm not good with anything other than fuses and don't want to fark it up. Does anyone here REALLY know what they are doing and can help or does anyone know a good auto electrician not too far from Footscray?

Thank all.
  2. me too,i have the alarm but not installed yet
  3. I have done mine, and may be able to help, you need to have a soldering iron, wiring diagram specific to your bike.
  4. how hard was it? (i'm thinking of getting one).
  5. I have often pondered the idea of an alarm (but I find it too alarming!)

Seriously, what sort of prices should you pay and what are the pros and cons? I mean a determined thief is going to get your bike if he really wants it, right?

Does having an alarm only annoy the neighbours and lead to complacency?

Is it worth it when you're sometimes so far away from the bike that you can't hear it?

Any ideas???

PS: I'm in NSW so can't offer help in terms of your particular installation (and you wouldn't want ME stuffing around with your wiring anyway!)

Best of luck with the install.
  6. It took a bit to install it, but it's not to hard as long as long as the bikes wiring is colored & matches the wiring diagram. Took me about 4 hours of mucking around. Also depends on where you want to put it. e.g. under the seat or tank.
  7. I had a spyball on the babyblade.

After the first 6 months the novalty wore off and it became a pain in the arse.