Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

In search of a quiet comfortable helmet...

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by cgracer, Dec 29, 2008.

1. Hi, I've been riding for around 4 months, lots of commuting, a few group rides on weekends etc.
    I bought a Shoei XR-1000 having read great reviews and finding it to be what I thought was a very good fit for my head shape, and I always wear earplugs (foam ones at first until I got custom moulded silicone ones).
    However, I have found that the level of wind noise I get from this helmet to be rediculous even at 50kmph, to the point where it is very distracting.
    I also find that I get resonance noises from the bike (Yoshimura exhaust) at anything from 7000rpm onwards.
    I also own a Simpson Diamondback helmet which suffers none of these problems, however it doesn't have the AS 1698 sticker on it (even though it has higher rating + made from better materials than the shoie).
    So basically I'm wondering if anyone can tell me what helmets they have found to be comfortable and quiet for most applications.
    I've compiled a shortlist of lids that I'm considering, and as I like riding so much I'm prepared to pay a bit of a premium if it means I get a REALLY quiet helmet, here is my shortlist:
    • Shark RSR2
      BMW Sport Intergral
      Arai RX7
      Arai Vector

If anyone can comment on their experiences with any of these of suggest others that I might consider, then please do, I'd appreicate it.

Thanks in advance.

2. i have only had a limited experiece with the shark rsr2. This is the helmet i am looking at buying atm. It is comfortable for me. but may not be comfortable for you.
    Its a individual difference, something you will have to try out for yourself.