Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

im new to riding and have no idea...no power

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by ashrose, Jul 17, 2012.

1. hi all
    im not mechanically minded so ... forgive a fool
    my problem is basic, my bike has no power.
    i assume the battery is stuffed but here it is...
    i washed my bike the other day and the next morning there was no power...no lights no nothing.
    i tried to push start her but she wouldnt fire..i can hear the motor poping over but she just wont fire. i tied to hook her up to a car battery (without starting the car) and nothing, waited 5-10mins and still nothing not even lights. i cant even push the starter button in.
    my bike is a hyosung gv250 2006 i bought second hand from a yamaha dealer in vic.
    ive had it for about 4 months (first bike)and over the last 2 months ive been having trouble with power..the battery has gone flat 3 times(i work early morns and tend to run lights all the time) but each time i could push start it.
    but this time shes dead as dead as dead can be.
    is my battery finaly stuffed(should i have got something from hooking up to car) or could i have got water in some where or could it be more serious.
    its due for its second full service..unsure of first full service/unsure of previous history.
    any advice would be good

dont forget im mechanically stupid
    thanks in advance

2. You answered your own question-about half way down.
  3. Blabbus has a point.

But try double checking the cut-off switch. Should be above the ignition.

4. There is your answer.
  5. ID be looking @ the fusebox , if You had it hooked to a car battery , key on - with nothing?