Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I'm in the market for a 600

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by martych, Sep 25, 2006.

1. Hello everyone,

As you can probably tell, I'm a newbie to the site. I currently own an XP500 (scooter), I know forgive me for I have sinned....anyway, I've finally seen the light and want to upgrade to a new 600, problem is, there's almost too many to choose from.

I'm really keen on the Kwaka er6-n / Yamaha FZ6N and Suzuki GSR600.

I'm drawn to the Kwaka firstly because its the new kid on the block, and the others have been around a while, BUT I have sat on it and it felt like being astride a 250, very small. I'm 6 foot tall and no lightweight at 95kg. Having said that though, most of my riding is commuting to and from work in the usual traffic, with some (10km) of freeway.

I've heard that the 4cyl Suzuki and Yamaha's are greater at higher revs but a bit of a drag in traffic, as there's lots of gear changes needed etc,.

Anyway, I'd appreciate any advice you may have.

Thanks, Marty
  2. Yeah if I were you I would be looking at the Gixxer 600 with a micron pipe.

Usually I'm a honda man, but for the last couple of years I have been rather dissappointed in the cbr. But I do like the Gixxer.
  3. Re: I'm in the market for a 600- BUT WHICH ONE ???

You sinned by owning a scooter? Didn't you see the "scooters" section here?

I'd be more inclined to get the ER6-f if I was going to get one. I really hate the look of the n. But that's me.

There's certainly plenty of 600s around, like the GSX-Rs and the Honda CBRs and the Yammy R6s.

Test ride them and see what you like the best.