Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I'm Getting Sick of Hearing about WD40 as a Chain Lube

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Tribos, Nov 22, 2008.

1. Ok, So this WD-40 thing (1, 2, 3 (see OP 19), 4, 5 & 6) has been bugging me. Here are my 2 cents worth... my background is in Tribology - hence the name - I making a few educated guesses in the following, none of this is a recommendation. I could be off the mark, Tribology is a notoriously tricky subject; so moving on…

BTW rings = o-ring/x-ring (me being lazy).

On account of not being able to view the letter on the Yamaha forum I decided to get my own letter from WD-40, to do that I wrote the following:
    The reply was as follows [EDIT 24/11/08: YFZ forum is back up, turns out this is the exact same letter that was posted there!]:
    I don't know how this compares to the letter posted on the Yamaha Forum, butso far nothing to suggest that we are being hoaxed by those marketing gurus flogging us that expensive sticky/waxy stuff we spray all over our chains. Nothing to suggest that we should be using WD-40 as anything other than a potential chain cleaner either... but nice to ‘know’ it is safe with the rings. [Edit: please note the sarcasm used here: 'know' (thanks)]

I retract my previous post and concede that using WD-40 as a cleaning agent is probably no different to using kero, or most of the chain cleaners out there. However, I would not use WD-40 if I thought the rings were worn, hopefully the reason becomes apparent, rather I would clean the chain more thoroughly with kero.