Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I'm all cocky.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by gus_man, Jan 31, 2010.

1. Hey guys i've been riding for about 4-5 months now and have been working hard that whole time to gain the best control of my bike (CBR250RR, i know, i know).

I've been lucky enough to have lots of friends help me with advice, as well as their parents who have been riding for 40+ years. This has been invaluable.
    Couple that with reading TOTW 2 and watching the DVD about 10 times, which isnt easy with that acting...(the guy on the repsol can pull the most spastic faces) and i'm pretty fast.

Chicken strips are gone bar bout 1/2 a cm (hardcore elephant for anyone thats read the thread). I'm confident riding around town, through twisties, anywhere really. I can feel myself getting too cocky at times because I feel like i've mastered it, when really i've only just begun, kind of hard to explain I realise im cocky but not in the moment if that makes sense. This cockiness I feel could be my undoing if I cant control it.

So i was thinking about taking the bike to the track, in an effort to put things in perspective. Ie, being on a track with guys who will run rings around me might make that voice of reason a little louder in my head. Another thing, and this may sound weird but I wouldnt mind coming off at the track, i've never come off and never dropped my bike and kinda just want to do it and get it out of the way to see what it's like.

So all in all, how can I SAFELY give myself a wake up call, or bring myself to realise im not as good as I think? Or do you have any tips for keeping your head in the right place while riding?