Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

"I'm a very careful driver" UPDATE 1

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Zealt, Dec 24, 2008.

1. What a load of $h!t, so the story goes,

I was on a ride this morning before an 11 o'clock appointment, I had checked my watch at a set of lights and had 10 mins to get to Knox city and i was 5 mins away, so I turned up Boronia Rd heading up to stud road then i pull in to the left hand turn slip lane and stop.... well, umm.. BANG! some Physio in a district nurses car runs up the back of my GPX and pushes me out in to the road (Yeah could hit him up for free sessions but if his work is as bad as his driving, No thanks). No nothing was coming because he was watching for traffic over his shoulder and not in front of him.

I pulled over and he followed me in and started to explain and give his apologies, I held my finger up in his face to make him shut up until i could get my helmet off and ear phones out, ok so i let him talk..

He assured me he is a very careful driver, I let him know despite what he thinks he isn't as careful as he thinks he is, and that maybe looking in the direction of travel is probably the better choice then assuming its clear.

He also says all damage will be paid for by insurance (doubt he knows whos insurance will be paying for it) but i'm not completely sure what i should be looking for or claiming.

Number plate is bent up and ugly (I want a replacement)
    Right hand indicator lens is scuffed and scraped, same for the brake/Tail light (not sure how that one happened)
    Brand new rear tyre (less then 500k's) took a beating.
    Who knows about axle and swing arm bushes and pins.

(Might put together a list and the prices for the insurance company)