Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I'm a newbie (kind of..)

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by LittleRed, Feb 11, 2015.

1. Howdy! I've been hanging around these forums for a little while now, so I decided I'd post a quick introduction.

I'm almost 20 years old, currently P1 until April when I'll finally be unrestricted. I live about 30 minutes out of Leongatha, Victoria.. some pretty great roads out here, some pretty bad ones too...

I've been riding on and off most of my life (stepdad used to race motorcycles and was a motorcycle wrecker when he was younger, so he got me into it). It all started with a little Suzuki JR50, moved onto a Honda XR80 and then I stopped riding. Skip ahead a few years and my parents soon started bugging me about getting a job and my license, so I did as I was told and booked myself in for my license.. the look on my mum's face when she found out it was for a motorcycle was priceless (still to this day, no car license.. I ride my motorcycle everywhere!). Took a bit of effort and convincing but I eventually got my first motorcycle, a Honda CB250.. was a great little bike, took one hell of a beating since I work on gravel roads and need to wake up early for work, wombats.. gutters.. we took on everything together (and it hurt.. a lot). Surprisingly enough, she survived long enough for the clutch to play up and that's when I decided to say goodbye.

I've now got a 2004 Suzuki DR400, much more suited to the job at hand. Handles the dirt roads like a dream and it's much easier to avoid the pesky wombats.

I've also decided to plan ahead a little and get something a bit more suited to long distance travel and highways, so I've got myself a Honda VTR1000 for when I'm finally unrestricted.