Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I'll procrastinate tomorrow. Maybe.

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by The12thDoctor, Sep 12, 2016.

1. Lurking for three years? Guilty as charged.

I started riding later in life. Always wanted to do it but "life" happened - marriages, mortgages, kids, etc. Learning to ride just wasn't a priority.

Fast forward to 2011. I found myself between contracts and getting cabin fever waiting for the phone to ring with my next "opportunity" (pfft!, recruitment agents, right?), and the thought occurred that now was an ideal time. My only expectations were to learn a new skill, and tick an item off the bucket list. I didn't anticipate what was to come from this small idea.

So, Learner's permit late November and used XVS250 a week later. Man, riding it home from the dealer was intense! I could only do left turns, turning right just seemed more complicated than my skills would allow, and 40km/h seemed ludicrously fast.

I'd only ever wanted to ride cruisers, ever since seeing advertising for Yamaha's Virago around the turn of the century. The XVS250 is a discontinued model in the V-Star stable, replaced in that market segment by the now ubiquitous XV250, but definitely not the same bike. It was a lovely looking machine.

After my wobbly first ride my confidence rapidly built. Riding all day wasn't enough and I couldn't wait to do it again the next. More than just the challenge of developing the skills, I discovered I felt calm while riding, clear headed, less stressed. To my surprise and relief it helped keep the Black Dog at bay.

Three months to the day after getting my Learner's that little 250 got me through the MOST. I'd racked up over 9000km by then and, even though it rained all bloody day, it was a cakewalk.