Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I think Ive started WWIII.

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Caz V1, Jan 29, 2007.

1. I've been riding full on for 12 months now, during this time my stepfather who up until 5 years ago always had a bike (17 new and 2 second hand all up), has shown a remote interest in my bike, but nothing really major.
    When I visit him and my Mum the conversation always revolves around bikes and mum has been left out a bit.
    Over the past few months I have noticed an ever increasing number of motorbike mags accumulating next to his chair, the stack is higher each time I see it.
    Last week when I visited the background on the computer had been changed from their big fishing boat to a bike pic.
    Today I go there and mum tells me about a new yamaha dealer thats opened up down the road. Cool, I will check it out tomorrow.
    Moz(stepdad) enters the kitchen and starts to tell me all about the new bike shop in Epping, I ask, how do you know all this......
    "umm, I went there yesterday" he replies. Mum's face got all red and her eyes sorta turned beady. "you never told me you went there" she protests.
    As it turns out, Moz spent a couple of hours in the new bike shop, and has chosen a new bike, even to the point of talking turkey with the sales guy and getting him down from $14000 to $11900 on the road.... A new TDM900.

Mum was silent the entire time Moz was yakking away, his eyes all a blaze with excitement......until.....
    "there's no way I'm letting you buy another motorbike" mum says in her voice of authority.
    I burst out laughing, then I got the old sideways glance from mum, "what's so funny?" she asks.