Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I need a bit of help in choosing a bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Darius, May 21, 2008.

1. G'day everybody,

I'm a 19 year old student and I've decided I want to get into riding instead of sticking with a car (The Ford Territory I'm driving right now is burning a hole in my wallet with its fuel consumption). So, I'm looking into getting a first bike - but I'm not sure what to get. The 08 Kawasaki Ninja 250R looks nice, but I've read a fair bit of negativity about the power and size of the bike (I'm 182cm and work out a bit - so I'm a bit heavier than the average guy of my height).

My budget for a bike is around $7-8k and I'd expect to be keeping the same bike for a few years atleast. I've read that many people who buy the 250R get bored with it after a year or so. Don't get me wrong, I'm no speed demon, I'd just prefer to find something that I can 'grow' into over time, as my skill develops (instead of buying a larger capacity bike when I get bored and feel the urge to push the limits a little further). Not that I know what I'm talking about - I'm just going off what I've read.

So, I'd greatly appreciate some suggestions on which bike to lean towards - new or used. Like I said earlier, I love the look of the Ninja 250R, but I've read mixed thoughts about the power and smaller size of the bike. I love the idea of getting a brand new bike, but if the little Ninja is too small for me, I might need to go into the used market or raise my budget. I have next to no knowledge of the motorcycle market, so I have no idea which bikes are good buys, new or used.

Many thanks.