Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I Landed on Somone's Windscreen

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' at netrider.net.au started by solidsk8, Sep 17, 2016.

Tags:
  1. P_20160915_093521_zps0jiimyir.

When I started riding about 8 years ago I learned a lot from this forum by reading about all your near misses and crashes, so, since I had one of my own on Friday, I wanted to post about it here.

Also, I need to vent :)

I was on my way to uni, travelling in a 50 zone. When I was about 4-5 metres from an oncoming car in the other lane, the young female driver attempted a right turn across my lane. She was oblivious of my presence.

I knew immediately when she started turning it was too late: There was not enough space to avoid a collision.

A few expletives went through my head as I applied my brakes to the best of my ability, and I steered the bike a little to the left at the last moment, just before impact, so I was flung sideways onto her windscreen, but not before I felt my foot get caught between the bike and her car for a split second.

Above the waste I felt fine, but my right leg was in a lot of pain. I feared the worst but it turned out, after a trip to the hospital, that my only injury is a sprained foot/ankle and a little bruising.

Miraculously the bike stayed upright, leaning against her car bonnet for support. Besides a few scratches on the handle bar, and perhaps a couple of scratches on the side, it came away unscathed. (TTR250 btw)