Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I hate the rain already!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Paulie, May 6, 2005.

1. So! as we all know I've only been riding for about a week and I guess you,re all probably sick to death of reading my posts but anywho..

I was writing home from the girls house tonight still a little wobbly and stuff cause I'm new at riding and it started raining, it was HORRIBLE!!! I don't think I'll ever ride in the wet again! the road is just so damn slippery and its so hard to see! I thought I was gonna slide it a few times on corners and roundabouts...

Do many people not ride during the wet?

2. i reckon riding in wet is just as fun as riding in the dry, just have to concentrate harder.
  3. Take is easy in the wet, take it very very cautiously in roundabouts in the wet as they collect crud like you wouldn't believe. Try to keep your throttle and braking gentle and consistent. You will learn heaps about riding and control in the wet that you won't in the dry. It rains out there, deal with it and enjoy.
  4. Riding in the wet is almost the same as riding in the dry.
    Increase your braking distance, watch for tram tracks/expansion joints, white lines and roundabouts.

The rest is the same :)
  5. Being as smooth as you can is the key. Don't do anything suddenly and you'll be fine.

It poured rain, the first night I had the blade and pretty much for the rest of the week. You'll come to terms with and get over the fear factor.
  6. i ride everyday , rain hail or shine
    as the others said , increase your braking distance , watch for objects on the road , and be SMOOTH .
    also dont be scared of the rain , respect it , be cautious of it , but not scared of it .