Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I fell over

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by thisisjoe, Nov 3, 2015.

1. Hello,

Thought this might be a good place to see what you people think about this one;

That's me! At Halls Gap, every one of the three cars to pass us by stopped to offer help, one couple even stayed further up the road to slow approaching traffic until we sorted ourselves out so that was really nice.

I just got back from a three day 1600km ride, which was pretty amazing. Except for that small part on day two.
    I'm still fairly new to riding, this was the first trip I've done off my L's. I think I know what happened but i'd like to get some more opinions.

My thoughts are that I entered an unfamiliar turn with too much speed, it looks like a decreasing radius and I don't have the skill or confidence to increase my lean any further that I had it.

So there you have it, one bent headlight bracket, one cosmetically damaged fuel tank, a scuffed jacket, glove and arm. That's about it luckily. The rest of the ride was pleasantly uneventful, we came back and did that road the other way the next morning and all was well.

2. I'm not too sure about the too much speed part. Your lines are not good - start wide and finish tight. You probably target fixated on the rock wall, tensed up, couldn't turn etc etc. All those usual noob errors.

I recommend you read and practice on Rob's cornering threads. Have you seen them?
    • Agree Agree x 3