Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

I don't really ride naked

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' at netrider.net.au started by thenakedrider, Aug 20, 2016.

Tags:
  1. ... but love the idea of it. ;)

Hello everybody, looks like we have a great community of riders here - old and new. Love the fact that members are so helpful.

As for me, I am total newbie. Just got my Ls. Thinking of buying the CB500XA. I live and work in Sydney CBD. The bike will be used primarily for rides on the weekends and during holidays.

I have a few questions:
    i) I was just wondering if it is safe to park on the street at night as I don't have access to a proper parking space. I might buy a Kryptonite disc lock as a deterrent.

ii) Do I need to buy a cover for protection against the elements - rain/dust/hail/harsh sunlight?

iii) Are there any quiet streets in/around CBD that are ideal for a beginner to practice during the first few days?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you and have a great weekend. :)

Cheers,

The Naked Rider

2. i) No.
    and Kryptonite U locks are easily removed, u tube it. So put a disc lock in rear wheel and run the reminder cable up to the frame otherwise you may forget about it yourself.
    ii) Kinda, more because it disguises identity of bike
    iii) No. Best off heading out to the 'burbs and looking for empty carparks and, get out to the Homebush learning practices if you can on a Saturday arvo.
    cheers Fred :)

oh, and you'll love the CB500X, great bike very forgiving and plenty of get and go. I had a CBR500R myself. Having said that, there is a whole bunch of new 300's from the big 4 Jap companies, and the KTM 390 has the best power to weight around and is a fantastic machine, Good luck choosing a new bike !

• Like Like x 3