Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hyosung ignition failure

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' at netrider.net.au started by Rider_clyde, Aug 9, 2014.

1. Hey Guys, first post apologies for any newb things!

So I'm trying to troubleshoot the ignition on my 2011 Hyosung GT650r EFI. Yes I know many of you don't like the brand, I'm OK with this, so any suggestions of "you shouldn't have bought it", "just ditch it", "Hyos are crap", any of that will just be straight up ignored as I do not want the thread to turn into another brand bashing exercise. I'm an engineering student, I like fixing things and that's just what I'll do, all machines are just that... machines. Unfortunately I lack the experience, detailed knowledge of all vehicle systems, and some tools to fix all things by myself, so that's where I'm hoping you guys can help me out :)

Here's what I'm facing. The front cylinder does no longer fire. Through extensive testing and advise from several mechanics (swapping ignition coils, new spark plugs, swapping plug caps) I determined that the failed part was the front ignition coil. I've replaced the part twice in quick succession now. The first time I thought I'd received a faulty replacement coil as it burnt out again on the first ride, but the second time I began to think there is a little more going on here than I had thought. Clearly there is something that is forcing the the ignition coil to fail. I've explained this to a few friends that are mechanics and have received little in the way of what could be causing it on an EFI engine.

When it failed: