Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hyosung GV 250 Thoughts

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by biker one, Jul 16, 2006.

1. I'm a newbie to bikes, well I have had my licence for over 20 years but only now am I getting around to using it.
    Have been looking around at 250 Cruisers. The one I'm looking at maybe buying is the Hyosung GV250.
    I also love the Yamaha XVS 250, have found plenty on here about this one, but not to much on the Hyosung.
    Thouhts from owners would be great.

2. Hi
    I saw you have had no replies so I will answer!

I am completely new to bikes and can't help out too much - but just bought one of these myself (the GV250 that is). I was weighing up all the 250 cruisers and which one to get. I was first told by a good friend to get the Virago (and I believe that the XVS is the same engine as the Virago, just looks better for about an extra $2000 - $3000 or something)- it did have some great reviews, but.... the look of it just didn't do it for me, and also found a few people saying it just didn't have enough ooomphh and struggled over 90km/hr. The kawasaki eliminator 250 looks lovely, but I thought maybe a little too big for my first bike as I can't ride yet!

The suzuki 250??? maybe??

Honda doesn't do one anymore

Then I saw the GV250 and fell in love with the looks. I am slightly concerned about the quality of the chrome - have seen on 7000km bike covered in rust and bubbles, but then I also saw another one, same kms, in lovely condition.