Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hyosung GT250R

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by wallyt99, May 16, 2008.

1. For anyone considering buying a GT250R, I thought I would give you my opinions of the bike. This is my third motorbike and I have been riding for 5 years. I purchased it for $3500 with extremely low k's.

The good -

-Tracks well through corners.
    -Large and comfortable bike, extra good for big guy.
    -Build quality is good enough.
    -Plenty of power and tourqe all through the rev range (for a 250)
    -The torque and sound of the 2 cylinder is great.
    -Great range and fuel economy.
    -Twin discs mean braking is excellent (with good pads)
    - Good tyres and pads make a huge difference to the bike.

The Bad.

-Headlight is next to useless.
    -A little bumpy when cruising at 100...I am guessing stiff suspension?
    -Quality of anodised finish on wheels is really rough, and collects chain grit.
    -The large 'tank between your legs' seating position, makes it hard to shift weight on the bike. (mayby I am just not as agile as I used to be :]
    -Not super flickable, but tracks well.

Overall I am really happy with it. I wouldn't say it is a good learners bike as I feel it is a genuine sports bike and not as stable, or flickable as some other learner bikes. If you learnt to ride on this then I think you might struggle with some evasive measures.

I have more than enough power. I do not want to lose my license (again) or my life. That said, due to its size it would be a great bike to progress onto something bigger.