Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Hyosung 650R/L or Suzuki 500GSF

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by beans07, Oct 8, 2008.

1. Hi I am completely new to motorbikes and was after an opinion on which bike to get. I am booked in for my upright course in about 3 weeks and am hoping to have the bike around or just after.

I am purchasing brand new and have narrowed down my choice to ether the Hyosung 650R/L or the Suzuki 500GSF. At this stage the bike will be kept for a few years and used on the full license so it wont be just for initial learning. The reason for brand new is so I know about the history and servicing as I ma anal on both of these.

The bike will be used to ride approx 100km's per day 5 days a week, with about 90% of the ride on rural highway 100km/h.

I am leaning towards the Suzuki purely because the local bike shop has one in-stock ready to roll and they will do all the servicing on it here as well. The Hyosung I would have to travel 250km's to purchase and also to get it serviced.

Can someone please give me an idea of the cost brand new ride away (not including insurance as I will get it myself) price for the Suzuki so I don't get ripped off by the local fella's?

For a start I have been leaning towards a dri rider mesh jacket, dri rider gloves and a helmet (not sure which one/brand yet as I haven't fitted one) as I can get all this stuff from the local shop too at reasonable cost. Gloves are $100, Jacket about $350 and helmet I have been looking at between $300-400.

All opinions on which one the better for me would be greatly appreciated. Or any other possible suggestions will be taken on board too.

2. Suzuki. nuff said.

3. +1, it's a no-brainer!!