Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Humanity Still Exists...

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Steve41, Oct 29, 2012.

1. Guys,

I just wanted to introduce myself and tell you my little story and how I got to the conclusion that there's still such thing in subject.
    I'm 4x and on my P since last month. I started riding the bike not as a lifestyle statement but to cut commuting time from north west Sydney to the City and it appears to be a good decision so far.

I'm riding a Honda VTR 250 with some mods already installed by previous owners and I love the look and feel of it, even though I think my 100 kg/180 cm looks a bit funny on this relatively small bike.

Anyways, I never rode a motorbike before and when I went to pick up mine, I was just fresh out of my L training without any experience.
    I had to ride home from south east Sydney on a rainy June night which I took as a sort of initiation process. "If I survive than I will never have any problem in the future...."

So I sat on the bike, received some quick instructions from previous owner about how to use the indicator, start the engine, where I can find the closest petrol station, etc., and off I went!
    I guess the guy was laughing out loud while I was trying to indicate at every corner and pushed the horn instead, so he could follow my way all to the next suburbs by just listening to the "honk, honk"s...

He also told me the bike has enough petrol to the closest petrol station, but in about the 3rd street the bike stopped and couldn't start the engine anymore.
    Needless to say, I was sweating heavily and had no idea what to do. There must be petrol in the tank, the guy told me, so it's the engine that must have some issue!