Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How to soften my boots

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by Lina, Feb 2, 2012.

1. Hi guys,

I'm a newbie, have only gotten my licence a couple of months ago and barely on the bike but I've got all my gear. I don't wear my boots though, I ride in my joggers. I find I can only touch the ground with my tippy toes with the boots on however I can get the pad of my foot almost down when I wear my joggers.

Any suggestions on how to soften them other than wearing them around the house? Someone suggested wearing the in the bathtub and soaking them, then walking around for a while but I don't know if I wanna do that. They're Dainese & cost a fair bit.

Would appreciate any advice.

2. Oil the outside of them with leather oil, then get a pile of wet newspaper and jam them full of it. Give it a day and take it out and then fill them up with dry newspaper for a day.
    Take that out and let them dry completely and hopefully they will hold the stretched size. Lil squirt of something like glen 20 to make sure no water borne stuff settles in (shouldnt that quick...).

Never tried it with multi layer strong riding boots, but works with new work boots.
    • Like Like x 1
  3. Douse them in white vinegar for a bit, or soak them in water and go for a good walk. I think I recall folk saying the army do that water soaking walk thing.
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Just walk around in them until you get use to it. That's what I do.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. The problem is not that the boots are too hard, its just that you're too soft.

Well, you did say you'd appreciate any advice. Just get out there and ride.
  6. Lina, welcome and all of the above OR go to a shoe maker and have them strech the boots [a little]