Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How to progress from learner to license?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Digitalwingx, Mar 16, 2009.

1. Got my learner permit a few months ago, wasn't very confident and had an accident a few weeks ago. I think I need to be very careful about to progress from a learner to license.

Have been driving cars for a few years sometimes I think the experiences I got from driving cars makes riding a motorcycle more difficult, although it helps to notice road condition faster it's more about the cornering on bike is so different.

So the question as a total noob of riding, what's the best/safest way to progress?

2. Practice , practice , practice.

I dont think your car experience would make the transition to bikes difficult. Imagine jumping on a bike and having no road experience at all? Now that would be difficult!

On the flip side , after riding a motorcycle I find it makes me a far better car driver in terms of anticipation , safety and general road awareness.
  3. Been asked and answered a lot - check out some previous posts.

See if you can link up with some learners or a mentor in the area.

Take it easy - practice in low traffic times first. When your more confident increase the difficulty and vary the conditions.

What bike do you ride? How old are you / long have you been driving cars?
  4. Yea driving experience is benefical, but I got this habit of braking while cornering (sometimes) when driving cars, which is not too bad on a car but on a bike I had an accident because of it.

Driving cars for about 8 years, riding a bike for about a few months.