Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How to determine Bore of Master cylinder?

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Mr White, Jul 27, 2012.

1. Hi all, as you can tell im new to the motorcycle world in a way.

I've been learning basic mechanics with fairly good success but my latest issue is with my newly acquired '83 suzuki gsx 250, which is missing the front brake master cylinder on the handle bar, along with the brake lever.

I have rung around to suzuki dealers and wreckers in Melbourne and I've now learned that it IS necessary to operate the front caliper, and that I cant just throw any old master cylinder on, because It has to have the right 'bore'.

I've also learned that a new or used one will cost anywhere from $150 to $300!!! So Im assuming the 'bore' in this case is the width of the tube sending fluid to the caliper or something?

Has anyone had experience with this or know if I can use, say, a Bandit's part to install on my bike?

2. The bore is the internal diameter of the cylinder.
    It's important because too small will not move enough volume of brake fluid to fully actuate the brakes, too large will not give enough pressure to properly brake the bike. You need the correct bore to work with the lever design and caliper design.
    Surely any competent motorcycle wrecker could assist you with the correct master cylinder for your bike? If not then the local dealer could provide you with a part number for it.
    • Like Like x 2
  3. Correct, bore = diameter of the master cylinder and piston. Bigger the bore the larger the VOLUME of fluid moved per stroke.

Pressure is determined by the lever and its leverage ratio.