Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How to become a better Rider?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by robbie3786, Jul 24, 2007.

1. Hey Guys,

I'm a newb to this forum, and most things Rider related.

I just recently got my L's.. and currently in the process of looking for a bike to buy.

Once i have it... i plan to ride alot to get heaps of experience etc... my quetion is.. would riding with other more experienced riders be better than going at it alone and trying to do it myself? Also, i've seen some Companies that offer more rider training for Learners and upward? Also i know that when you're on your Car Learners, you can go through the P driving test as a practice and the instructor will tell you where you need to improve etc...

Any Help would be appreciate.

2. Tell people where you live, and have a look around in the mentors section.
    You might find someone to give you some tips.

If you look in the new riders section you will find many topics on roadcraft, cornering all sorts of things.

it is a lot less painfull to learn from other peoples experiances.
  3. Find an experienced rider who is happy to ride behind you on a run up the mountains or local interesting roads - then they should be able to give you some hints & tips.

At other times, observe them on the roads: look at posture, road-position, and procedures for braking/merging etc. And take what you think is good/right from their riding and incorporate it into your own.

-Push yourself slightly when you have confident control of a bike.
    -If it feels 'wrong' or uncomfortable, don't do it. You have plenty of time to think about things later and decide whether or not to try them.