Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How to approach learning and restricted period

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by Daniel And, Apr 10, 2016.

1. Hi all,

My name is Dan – currently living in Melbourne.

I recently received my Learner Permit in Victoria and must be one of the first people who had to fork out for the (now mandatory) two day training prior to obtaining the permit.

I have a few questions about next steps as a learner now that I’m let loose on the general public.

Let’s start off with some general info:

Besides the training mentioned above and a day of riding an automatic scooter in Thailand, I have zero experience on a motorbike. Having said that, I’ve ridden a bicycle all my life, so am not struggling with balance or anything like that. I’ve also held a full car license for 10+ years, so I’m no noobie to road rules or general behaviour in traffic.

During training, I mostly struggled with taking off (stalled a number of times), but once the bike was moving, I felt fairly comfortable. They gave us Honda 125e’s for the training (which also included taking the bike out into general traffic).

I will be moving to Sydney next month, so will wait until then to get a motorcycle and get started with the whole thing. Added bonus is that I will only be on my Ps for 12 months due to being older than 25 and having a full car license.

I expect to be using the bike for my daily commute in inner Sydney (will still have car as backup) and for the occasional joy ride a bit further afield.

The main thing I’m struggling with is how I should approach my L / P period. After having done some research, there are broadly two schools of thought: