Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How Often Should I Change My Oil On A Old Bike?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by mattcooper, Dec 11, 2007.

1. Hey
    I just bought a CBR250RR 93 Model with 439647 K's on the clock. I am a complete newbie to the bike game.

How often should I change the oil on the bike? I just did my first oil change on it today.

Thanks guys

2. The more often the better. Owners manual probably quotes something like every 5,000kms - that should be considered the absolute maximum. Ideally you'd want to change it more often, like every 2,500kms, if you want the most life from the engine (assuming it isn't already rooted). If you are changing the oil that often you can usually get away with only doing the filter every second change, otherwise be sure to replace it everytime you do the oil. If money's no object use the fancy synthetic stuff - otherwise it's far better to use a cheaper oil and change it more often (just avoid the really cheap stuff). Of course things like how often you ride, how you ride it, the sort of temperature changes and environmental conditions (eg dust) it's exposed to etc. etc. all affect how often the oil needs to be changed.

3. Great Thanks!!!!

4. The oil filter should be changed every time oil is changed. The filter is what holds all the crap and keeps the oil free of solid contaminents. I would never change oil without changing the filter. What does a filter cost? $10-$20?

5. ^^^^Agree and disagree at the same time....

The filter is very important. That said, if your service intervals are 5000ks, and at 2500ks you just dump the oil for some fresh stuff, and do a proper change every 5000 as recommended, it's still better for the engine.