Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How not to die, and other useful advice, from a novice.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by jekyll, Feb 26, 2007.

1. Disclaimer: I'm not an expert. However, I'm reasonably smart and I'm not dead yet. I think all of the following qualifies as good advice, and is generally a summary of smarter, more expert pieces of advice I've culled from the internet over the last couple of months. I just completed my pre-Learner training.

As it's a summary, I won't necessarily connect all the dots. Investigate for yourself. Use google or your search engine of choice to mine the Internet, and read a couple of books. Get all the training you can.

Firstly, I'm assuming like me you've decided to buy a motorbike, and you don't want to die. Dying on a motorcycle is easy. My uncle was killed by a drunk driver. Another lost an arm in a motorcycle accident.

In order not to put yourself at more risk of dying than is unavoidable, you need a little bit of luck, and good measures of skill, paranoia, and education.

Find out about the statistics and studies which are available - particularly the Hurt report (US) and MAIDS (European - see http://www.motorcyclecruiser.com/streetsurvival/maids_motorcycle_accident_study/). These studies tell you how people die and are injured. By understanding how it happens, you'll be in a better position to avoid death and dismemberment yourself.