Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How *not* to buy a 2nd hand bike.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by kinch, Sep 4, 2008.

1. Oh, since I just realised it might be relevant, this is in QLD (since other state's laws might be different).

So I bought a bike a little while ago, a rather nicer machine than the old 225. I love riding it, it's a dream with loads of power when I want it, and a nice smooth riding motion when I don't. I'm still learning to adjust to the more powerful engine and the gears and clutch are quite different from what I'm used to.

Today I took it in for a safety certificate. According to the law, a bike can't be sold unless a safety certificate is provided by the seller. I didn't know this when I bought the bike. Apparently it's "law" but the first I heard of it was when I was browsing the Dept of Transport's website on an unrelated issue. I realise that it's my fault for not knowing the laws, but the bike was already registered, which I assumed meant that a safety certificate was moot, even when selling. The bike failed because an aftermarket pipe was too loud, and I didn't get the stock pipe when buying.

Important lesson for newbies looking at a second hand bike: Get a safety certificate before you hand over the cash. I asked the bloke about it when I was buying it and he said "nah, doesn't need it, they only last for 30 days so I didn't get one in case it ran out before selling it".