Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How much should a service cost?

Discussion in 'Businesses and Service Providers' started by Cobes71, Jan 12, 2008.

1. Hi All,

I am wondering what a fair price is for the 24000km service on a CBR600F.

I have booked it in at Freedom Motorcycles Brookvale on Monday.

They have quoted me $297 plus parts. As I am new to motorcycles, I have no idea what a service costs.

Advice on a rough price, would be appreciated.

2. Welcome to sports bikes!
    If its a valve adjustment service (your book should say) its about right although I wouldnt expect any higher.

It costs a lot of money to run big shops.

Just make sure everything is itemised and that they call you if they find anything major.
  3. Sports bikes

Just a little unsure as I had no idea of price.

I all ready found out about costs with two new Batalax tyres costing $460 fitted.

Still can't stop me riding everywhere including my sleep!!!

4. Just make sure they actually do what they are charging you for.

the price of $297 says to me they are just quoting it from the honda time manual x their hourly rate. This is how lots of shops make money, because the times for doing certain work in the factory manuals is usually calculated by doing the job 100% correctly.

Dealers will often take shortcuts, by not removing certain things where possible etc so they charge 4 hours labour as per the book, but they actually only work on it for 2.5 hours. In theory that would be illegal, as they can only charge for the time spent if they calculate or quote based upon an hourly rate.
  5. You will only find out what a fair price is by getting quotes froma number of shops.