Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How many people wear boots (motor bike) while riding?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by mick No:8, Nov 5, 2007.

1. I was at Peter stevens today (Melb) and saw that motorbike boots where on sale. I'm new to riding and don't know much about bike gear need/don't need, and was woundering how many people wear them while riding and how do they feel. Do one really need them, all it just up to the person?. I wore Hard Yakka work boots once, could feel my gears. I'm wearing runners at the moment. The boots I saw were Alpinestar SMX-3 boots $174 down from $423. Do they feel like runners or are they like work boots? ANy help would be great.

2. If you crash with runners on you could seriously mess up your feet. You need your feet to walk. Therefore YES you should wear boots.

BTW those alpinestar boots are good
  3. You really do need good foot protection. If you don't want full length motorcycle boots there are summer boots and lower cut boots that still provide proper ankle protection.

I have a pair of BMW "Street Sneakers" $160 (2 years ago) that are properly designed protective boots that I can walk around in all day.

There are other good brands out there as well that are just as comfortable.

Blundstones & RM Williams type elastic sided boots don't work either - in a decent crash they can actually come off.
  4. The generally thinish soles on bike boots make for great feel but are not ideal for long walks in the park. On the plus, you will be able to walk if you crash in them (I know, done it a few times). Work boots and runners aren't designed for the crashing side of things so keep that in mind.