Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How many people nod to other riders?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Eberbachl, Jul 11, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I started riding in about 1990 or thereabouts...

Throughout the '90s and early 2000's whenever I saw an oncoming bike, i'd give a wave or nod. That's just what you did.

I almost always got a return nod... except for Harley riders it seemed. It was a nice thing to do... just saying g'day to a fellow rider.

In 2005 we had kids, and sold our bikes to take a break...

After five years off, we just picked up a couple of new bikes a few weeks ago, and since being back on the bike I've noticed only maybe 40-50% of riders nod back.

WTF???

What's going on these days? Whats happened in the last five years? I'm shocked at how many riders just look straight at you as if to say "meh... screw you" :shock:

How many of you guys nod first, or will at least return a nod or a wave from an oncoming rider?

I understand that if a guy's on the job and is flying around a bend with sparks coming off his footpegs he's got better things to do than wave, but I'm just talking about people cruising along mostly straight lines on suburban roads at fairly pedestrian speeds here...

2. Boo-yah!!! lets do this =P

I wave with my left hand first.

3. :facepalm:

4. I'll repeat what I said in the other 1753 nod threads - I nod to everyone including scooters... :D

5. Boo Hoo... so the topic's come up before.

This forum has 61,324 threads and 1,080,952 posts.

Do you think every thread is going to be unique?

:nopity: