Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How long has everyone been riding for?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by I Adore Vic, Jan 26, 2007.

1. When did you all start riding motorbikes?

Was it something you grew up with? Or a dream realised later in life?

I love hearing other bikers answers to this question, so please tell. :)

2. I started riding motorbikes in 2005, Decided to ride a bike, when i saw one screaming down the road with a L plate in pendle hill, at that time i had no licenses and didn't like the whole Car L rules (with the other driver needing to be in the car), ever since then i've been on two wheels and never got that car license.
  3. 30 years old - yet to properly ride a proper motorbike.

Always had friends who were into motorbikes for my adult life. Was always curious, but never into it. Friends never used to put pressure on me to get one either.

Have generally had access to a "fast" car. Became reknowned for owning an R33 GTS25t Skyline, as I picked one up before they became common and popular, so much so that I would be introduced to people who would say "you're the guy with that red Skyline, aren't you?". :oops: I was a big part of the Autospeed (now Performance Forums) community and heavily into cars - I guess my mates just figured I was a lost cause.

I always thought that if I got myself a motorbike, I'd come to grief on it. My grandfather had a Beemer (I've only recently become aware of the distinction between Bimmer and Beemer) back in my country of origin - and I've always had a fascination with the stories my father and mother would tell about his adventures on it. I guess this contributes to me favouring a touring / street style bike over a sports bike.