Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

how far is too far to test your riding abilities?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by BalmyBrowny, Jun 11, 2006.

1. obviously a silly question... obivous answer being not so far that you spill.... was just wondering how other new riders go with the riding... in that i like to keep impoving every ride i go on... and being a commuter as well as weekend rider thats alot now :D i did a Mt Cootha run today followed by a Mt Gravatt look out run..... i've been riding now for nearly 3 months and think both these are way out of my league still... very enjoyable to ride... but very technical and some tight twisty bits that are bad if ya miss.... wanna know... should i keep trying them to get better??? or progress with other riding first before trying them out more??/ where does everyone else ride in bris to 'try out' their abilities on weekends???

2. Any experienced QLD riders up for a bit of mentoring of some of the newer riders? I can't think of anything better than to put back some of what we've already learned....

3. Nothing is out of your league if you ride to YOUR abilities. Keep going back I say, until you are comfortable with the situations that it presents to you that currently you think are a bit too much.

4.  Top
  5. Agreed. There are no roads IMO that are too tight for less experienced riders. They just need to go slower. As vic said in another thread, people fall off because they try to ride within someone elses limits. Only you can know where your comfort zone is. If you ride at a pace where you feel comfortable and can stop or take emergency action when you need to then you should be fine. Keep practicing and eventually your comfort zone will expand.