Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How far can you ride a 50cc scooter? (& other questions)

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by miou, Jul 14, 2007.

1. I just bought a used Vmoto Milan — don't laugh; I'm a student so funds are an issue.

How far can you ride a 50cc scooter without damaging it?
    There is a cryptic message in broken English underneath the seat; my boyfriend thinks it has something to do with how you shouldn't ride it for long distances. Obviously we can't go on freeways so it's not like we can ride terribly far, but realistically, how far is too far? Keeping in mind this Vmoto has only done 300k with its previous owner and we both want to treat it very well.

As an aside, how do you check the oil? And I have googled for a pdf User Manual, but no luck. Anyone know where I might locate one?

Thanks a lot guys.
  2. Hi Miou,

Firstly welcome to the forums! There's loads of great information about riding in here and I'm sure you will be able to find the answer to most of your questions.

Not sure about how to check the oil, maybe someone else who has one of these scooters can help you with that one.

I can tell you that as long as you keep up the maintainence schedule of the scooter you can ride it as far as you want!

Check out the following site for a story about someone who rode a 50cc scooter around australia.

3. I would say the answer to the question is, how patient are you?

Regards, Andrew.
  4. Welcome to Netrider!!!!

If your scoot has only 300k, it shouldn't need oil yet, you probably just filled the fuel tank twice :grin: It must be under warranty, so ask the dealer for details at the 1year service.

If it was sitting in a garage for years.. then....