Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

How does a bike bite?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by sonicbaz, Feb 17, 2006.

1. Eh ok, so I'm a 34 yr old noob, getting my first bike soon, just wondering some more and coming up with stupid questions. :roll:

This sounds so sutpid, but after having a look around at a few dealers I really love the fast bigger looking bikes. Duhhhh I didn't realise the struggle between my heart and my head (my life?) would be this great.

How does a bike bite? I hear these types of comments alot, but don't really understand what it means.

ok scenario, I just have completed my QRide (I haven't but next week or so) and I get my unrestricted license and then buy a bike like a secondhand GSX750R (these are v. fast I believe), as I ride it out of the dealer and gently apply throttle and take it real easy, is something bad going to happen? Sometimes it sounds like you would instantly vapourize on some bikes. Don't get me wrong I'm not doubting people. just need a bit more explanation.

2. There is no such bike as a GSX750R, Suzuki did make a GSX750F (which makes about 90ps at the rear wheel and is a sports/tourer) and they made the GSXR750 which makes anywhere from about 90 to 120ps at the rear wheel (depending upon year).

Bikes don't 'bite' but the power delivery on a sports bike when it starts making _real_ power will surprise someone who hasn't ridden one.

The bike can do odd things like spin up the rear tyre, fling the front wheel in the air, refuse to turn a corner with normal input etc etc.

These are strictly a result of the amount of power being fed through a single rear tyre normally in a low gear.